A glimpse of my favourite places in the world – Part 1: Lyon

Hi dearest readers!

For my first official post, I thought of talking a little bit of where I come from.

I’m indeed officially from France (according to my passport), but I’ve been living in so many different places for such a long time that I believe that I can’t really say that I’m only French anymore, but rather a happy mix of different cultures (you have to hear me speak English, my accent is just mental now!).

I’ll start today with my beautiful hometown: Lyon.

Born and raised in Lyon up until my 18th birthday, it’s funny how it will always be home in my mind, and yet, I know I’ll never go back, ever – to live I mean. But I just love going back for the holidays, seeing my family, my friends and being a teenager again in my old room surrounded by my FLUFFY gorgeous cats! And let’s not forget about the food!!

Lyon is the second biggest city in France, and I have to admit, it’s really amazingly beautiful. It’s hard to appreciate the beauty of a place you’re so used to, but now that I don’t live in Lyon anymore, I do. You have to walk around the old town (packed with tourists in summer, you’ve been warned) and climb up to Fourvière to check out the breath-taking view and the old Roman amphitheatre. There are also loads of wee typical Lyonnais restaurants called bouchons (which literally translates as corks – let me reassure you that even for the other people of France who are not from Lyon, it’s strange as well!) where you can eat weird stuff such as tripes, veal head and pork offal (sounds yuk huh? And I, for one, totally think it is yuk, but there are also other really delicious traditional meals as well, I promise!).

Lyon is also a super modern city, packed with cool shopping centres and attracting a lot of new businesses and work. Another thing I love about Lyon is a huge park called the Park of the Golden Head (from the legend stating that there is a golden head of the Christ buried someone beneath the park) right in the heart of the city, which is absolutely brilliant for pick-nicking, jogging, cycling or just lazing around in the sun!

However, I have a kind of love/hate relationship with Lyon… I love it because of the memories I have and because it means seeing my loved ones again, but every time I go back I can’t stop thinking that I’m glad I don’t live there anymore. I don’t know if it’s just Lyon, or France in general (I’ve never lived anywhere else in France, but I do get that same feeling whenever visiting other places in France). I guess it has to do with the French mentality in general that I don’t really agree with and that makes me think that I’m not at my place there.

Buuuuut… did I mention the food? And the wine? And don’t get me started on the cheese!

Natter with Sawyer - Traditional narrow streets of Old Lyon, packed with Bouchons
Traditional narrow streets of Old Lyon, packed with Bouchons
Natter with Sawyer - The Rhône banks at dusk, best place in Lyon to start the apéro!
The Rhône banks at dusk, best place in Lyon to start the apéro!
Natter with Sawyer - Me in my vintage sunnies admiring the view from Fourvière
Me in my vintage sunnies admiring the view from Fourvière
Natter with Sawyer - Homemade croissants! Hello clichés! And yet so true! Yum yum yum
Homemade croissants! Hello clichés! And yet so true! Yum yum yum
Natter with Sawyer - My gorgeous cats, Pixie and Charlie, looking grumpy as ever!
My gorgeous cats, Pixie and Charlie, looking grumpy as ever!

If you want more tips on Lyon or just want to share your Lyonnaises experiences, don’t hesitate to drop me a line!

Thanks for reading!

Sarah

2 thoughts on “A glimpse of my favourite places in the world – Part 1: Lyon

Leave a Reply

