The perfect garlic roast chicken

I have this vivid childhood memory of going to the market with my grandma and we’d always stop at the smell of the chickens slowly cooking on the roast. The smell always bewitched the nose first, then the stomach, and that’s when The Crave for Roast Chicken happened. We would smile at each other like little girls (that I was for my defence) and indulge in a warm delicious roast chicken for our Sunday meal. Hummm… Heaven!

It took me a long time to cook one on my own, because I thought it could never be as good as the ones from the market with my grandma. But then, last week, Tesco had this amazing offer on whole chickens, so I thought it was finally time to bring The Crave for Roast Chicken back! So courageous aren’t I?! And I’ve decided to add garlic because garlic’s awesome. And it’s good for your heart. And it’s delicious.

Like I explained already in Sawyer’s Dinner, I don’t do hard recipes, because I’m not that good of a cook and because I don’t have the patience, so this recipe is really easy as pie and scrumptious!

Garlic Roast Chicken with Potatoes recipe

Natter with Sawyer - The perfect garlic roast chickenIngredients:

1 whole chicken
As many potatoes as you’re hungry for
7 garlic cloves (2 to press and 5 to keep whole and unpeeled)
1 onion
Extra virgin olive oil
25 cl chicken stock
Bay leaves
Various herbs that you like (I chose Herbes de Provence)
Salt & pepper

Directions:

Preheat oven to 210°C.

Peel the potatoes and roughly cut them into middle size chunks. Thinly slice the onion. Press 2 of the garlic cloves and place in bowl. Add some olive oil, salt, pepper and herbs.

Brush the inside of the chicken with half of the garlic and olive oil mix, and brush the outside with the other half but make sure to keep just a little bit of the mix aside for later.

Natter with Sawyer - The perfect garlic roast chickenPlace the chicken in the centre of a large ovenproof dish. Arrange the sliced onion, potato chunks and the unpeeled garlic cloves around it. Pour the chicken stock on the vegetables.

Place a few bay leaves on the chicken and pop in the oven for 1h15. Make sure to turn over the vegetables and brush a bit more of the garlic and olive oil mix on the chicken once in a while.

Et voilà !

Natter with Sawyer - The perfect garlic roast chicken

3 thoughts on “The perfect garlic roast chicken

Leave a Reply

