A Healthy New Start: Coconut King Prawns & Sweet Potatoes

Moving to London and having to make meals for me only (until my other half joins me, hopefully very soon), I’ve rediscovered how it felt like to eat healthy! After the December holidays, and, I have to admit, a few unhealthy months being unemployed, I was craving for a fresh start. Also, my boyfriend cannot consider a meal without meat, pasta or eggs, or better, the 3 together, and after over 2 years together, I actually feel like a big potato!

So fresh start it is! And it hasn’t been easy! So many temptations in London! Restaurants from all around the world, cute cafés, trendy pubs… so many places I want to try! And I will, but parsimoniously, and in between, I cook my own food – no take away and no outside work lunch (well, very rarely at least!).

My first big decision was to entirely cut chocolate from my diet for a whole year. Now, if you know me you know how challenging this is for me, because I ADORE chocolate! I took this decision first because I need to strengthen my will power (I’m currently at level 0.5) and when it comes to unhealthy snacking, chocolate is definitely my temptation number one. Furthermore, last year, I probably ate enough chocolate to last me a few years and I’m of course never craving for some sophisticated fine dark chocolate that gives you energy, boosts your memory and is low in calories… oh no no no, I always crave the nastiest milk chocolate options, like Terry’s Chocolate Orange or Cadbury’s Fruit & Nuts – I’ve checked and double checked, zero nutrient or healthy intake, that’s a hurtful fact. So I’m 28 days into my challenge, and… I feel great! I snack much less, and I try new amazing stuff, as before, if given the choice, I would always have gone for the chocolaty option! This weekend, I had a vegan passion fruit cheese cake at Inspiral in Camden that I would have never considered, but it was absolutely divine!

Getting off topic again! The bottom line is that I’m cooking clean, and I wanted to share the sort of meals I’m making these days. I’ve decided on my favourite: Coconut King Prawns and Sweet Potatoes. What I love about this recipe is that you can change more or less everything according to what your taste-buds crave and to what you have at home: you can change the protein for fish, poultry or even red meat if you feel like it, and you can add and remove all the vegetables and just use the ones you have in your fridge. I personally always have cherry tomatoes, mushrooms and spinach at home, so I’m used to having some in most of my recipes! However, I’d recommend keeping the sweet potatoes and not swapping for normal potatoes as sweet potatoes are really much better for you and tastier, and don’t remove them altogether because they make the dish really filling and will keep you going for hours. Also, leave the garlic. Garlic is awesome.

Natter with Sawyer - Sweet Potatoes.jpg

Ingredients – for 4 people:

– 4 sweet potatoes
– 300g king prawns
– 400ml coconut milk
– (Chestnut) mushrooms, cherry tomatoes, spinach, kale…
– 1-2 garlic cloves
– Olive oil
– Salt & Pepper
– Coriander & Parsley (and any herbs you want)
– Chili powder (a lot lot lot!)

Directions:

Preheat oven to 200-210°C.

Peel the sweet potatoes and roughly cut them into small chunks. Place on an oven tray, add some olive oil, salt, pepper, herbs and chili and pop in the oven until the potatoes are soft (about 20min).

Meanwhile, slice the mushrooms. cherry tomatoes and kale, and brown them with some olive oil for a few minutes. Add the spinach, minced garlic, salt, pepper, herbs and chili, stir, and wait again a few minutes. Add the prawns, stir well and wait a few minutes – you don’t want to cook the prawns too long or they will lose their softness and taste. Finally add the cooked sweet potatoes and the coconut milk. Stir and reduce for a few minutes.

I’d recommend to serve with some fresh coriander on top (which I didn’t, but I’m sure it would taste incredible!).

Et voilà !

Natter with Sawyer - Coconut King Prawns & Sweet Potatoes.jpg

Happy eating!

Natter with Sawyer - Signature

3 thoughts on “A Healthy New Start: Coconut King Prawns & Sweet Potatoes

Leave a Reply

