5 London Shows to See This Summer

Long time no see! I’ve now been LIVING THE LIFE in London for 4 months, and I’m not gonna lie: I love it! I’ve been very busy, first with the new job, but also with the move from Belfast, and of course with enjoying the London life – so sorry for not having written in such a long time!

What best way to be back than to share a bit of my wonderful experience here? I’ve seen 5 London shows so far, and I wanted to share it with you guys, to give you a taste of what life is like over here, and maybe make you want to move to the capital, just maybe?

Mamma Mia

Not very original I admit, but one of my first nights out in London was to see Mamma Mia! I love Abba and I had so much fun watching the movie that I was curious to see the original musical (and my mom was over from France and also dying to see it!). Well, I wasn’t disappointed for a minute and enjoyed every single second of it!!!! So many emotions, from laughter and sadness to pure excitement! The performers were brilliant, singing and acting perfectly, and with SO MUCH ENERGY! They received a well-deserved standing ovation! I got out with a huge grin on my face, made my mummy extremely happy and basically listened to Abba for 48h non-stop. Totally recommend it, impossible not to adore it if you liked the movie and love the songs.

Natter with Sawyer - Mamma Mia

 

The Curious Incident of the Dog in the Night-Time

I had heard of the play and of the original book of course, but it was never really on my wish-list, until I found really cheap tickets and decided to give it a chance. Absolutely freaking brilliant! The story is interesting enough (teenage kid with Asperger syndrome who, one night, discovers his neighbour’s dog impaled with a garden fork and starts his own investigation), but it is far from being the best part of the show. The actors were great, but the main actor who plays the 15-year-old protagonist was terrific! I’ve read the book since then, and, as much as I liked it, I totally preferred the energy and dynamic of the show! What I loved the most was the set: very simple at first glance, it was full of small hidden places and transformed the stage to take the audience on a journey through a quiet suburban street full of strange houses and neighbours, on a packed train station and in the menacing London underground – absolutely geniusly done! The only thing I’d recommend is to actually not go for the cheapest seats… yes it was only £15, but there was literally ⅓ of the stage that I couldn’t see… Shame!

Natter with Sawyer - The Curious Incident of the Dog in the Night-Time

 

The Woman in Black

Another play, but very different from the one above! If you don’t know the story, it’s about a lawyer, obsessed with something (hint: it’s ghostly) that happened a few years back, and engages with a young actor in order to tell his terrifying story. I hadn’t read the book, although I had read other stories from the same author, Susan Hill, that I really enjoyed, but I had seen the movie a few years ago and didn’t think much of it… However, I had heard excellent reviews about the play and was told it was the scariest play in London, which of course made me curious! There are only two actors, but they are so brilliant that you sometimes think it’s actually other actors playing various characters! And… It IS really scary!! I don’t want to spoil anything for you, but I promise you’ll get shivers down your spine!!! The set was also marvellously done, playing with shapes and lights (and our nerves!). Probably my favourite so far!

Natter with Sawyer - The Woman in Black

 

Cabaret at the Rah Rah Room

Who doesn’t love a good cabaret? I know I do! I’ve discovered this great cabaret place, and have been a few times since! The shows are always different from the previous ones, but following the same pattern. I’ve seen two different hosts so far and a bunch of different comedians, singers, dancers, acrobats etc. The whole thing in a warm and cosy underground ambiance. Recipe for a great Saturday night!

Natter with Sawyer - Cabaret at the Rah Rah Room

 

The Maids

Being a huge fan of Orange is the New Black and of Downton Abbey, I literally ran to the box office when I heard of this play! Only three actresses, but what actresses!! Uzo Aduba (Orange is the New Black), Laura Carmichael (Downton Abbey) and Zawe Ashton (Fresh Meat, never watched it, but it’s on my list!!) were mesmerising! So much intensity it was hypnotising! The play is based on a work by French playwright Jean Genet and I have to admit that the storyline wasn’t my cup of tea… The idea is simple: two housemaids planning to kill their horrible mistress. Although I loved the performers and the production, I thought the writing was difficult to really spark my interest, apart from Aduba’s ferocious speech of oppressed people. The set, music and light effects were splendid though, giving the play a nice modern and edgy twist.

Natter with Sawyer - The Maids

 

Next on my list: Les Misérables, Harry Potter & the Cursed Child and The Book of Mormon!

Happy entertaining!

Natter with Sawyer - Signature

Leave a Reply

